COLLECTING PILLSBURY BAKE OFF COOKBOOKS

The Grand Prize in the first Pillsbury Bake-Off contest held in December, 1949, (then called the Grand National Recipe and Baking Contest) and hosted in the Waldorf Astoria Hotel in New York City — was $50,000.  The only required ingredient in the early contests was Pillsbury’s BEST Flour. (FYI- that $50,000 winning recipe was called No-Knead Rising Twists and it was submitted by Mrs. Ralph Smafield of Detroit, Michigan).

 

In the Second Pillsbury Baking contest (not yet referred to as a “Bake-Off) was also held in New York City. (In 1957 the competition left New York for the first time and headed for Los Angeles. Since then, Bake-Off contests have been held in Washington, D.C. Florida, Texas and California.) The 1st Prize Winner in that Second Grand National Contest was Mrs. Peter Wuebel of Redwood City, California for her Orange-Kiss-Me Cake. Her first prize was $25,000.

Since 1996, the Grand Prize has been $1 million. The first $1 million prize was won by a man (Kurt Wait of Redwood City, CA), and that year 14 of the 100 finalists were men. Kurt’s million dollar recipe was Macadamia Fudge Torte.

Until 2002, CBS televised the event. Hosts have included Arthur Godfrey (1949–1950s), Art Linkletter (1960’s), Bob Barker (1970’s),  Gary Collins (1980’s), Willard Scott (1990–1994), Alex Trebek (1996–1998), Phylicia Rashad (2000), and Marie Osmond  (2002). In 2010, the winner was announced live on The Oprah Windfrey Show.  The 2004, 2006, and 2008 contests were not televised. The television airings were produced by Mark Goodson Productions. Bob Barker was the first host to have a male category champ in 1978. Willard Scott & Marie Osmond also had male category champs (1990 & 1992 for Willard) while Alex Trebek had the pleasure to witness history when Kurt Wait won the 1996 Bake-Off with his million dollar recipe.

A lot of us collect the Bake-Off cookbooklets, which originally sold for twenty-five cents. (Curiously, the FIRST Bake Off cookbooklet doesn’t have a price on it anywhere. The Second Bake Off cookbooklet is priced at 25 cents). The price for the 13th Grand National Bake Off cookbook was 35 cents and the price went up to 50 cents when the 16th Grand National Bake Off booklet was published. The recently published 45th Bake Off cookbooklet was $4.99.

The FIRST bake off cookbooklet gives no indication that it was going to be the first of a series – I don’t think Pillsbury realized yet what they had on their hands. It’s the most elusive booklet of all to find and yet – I found mine at a flea market in Palm Springs and paid a dollar for it. I’ve heard of people paying $75 for one. I buy extra bake off booklets anytime I find them—just in case I find someone who needs one.

You know, if you have collected Pillsbury Bake-Off cookbooks for any length of time, how sometimes a Bake-Off recipe becomes really famous.  A good early example is the Tunnel of Fudge cake recipe. The original Tunnel of Fudge Cake, created by Texan Ella Helfrich, didn’t even win the grand prize—it came in second place! (Even so, the tunnel of Fudge cake recipe is featured on the cover of the 17th Bake-Off Cookbook collection).

Two unexpected events occurred at that 17th annual Bake-Off Event; one, a famous new dessert was born, and two, the people at Nordic-Ware, the creators of the Bundt Pan, discovered they had a hot selling item on their hands.

Many of us have had the vague impression that Bundt pans—or something very much like them—had European origins and have been around for ages. Didn’t our grandmothers have something sort of similar? Actually, they did.

Food writer, Marcy Goldman, writing for the Washington Post, a few years ago, explained that the Bundt pan, as we know it, was actually designed in 1949 in Minneapolis—but, she says, the story of the Bundt pan is made no less interesting by its recent origin.

Writes Goldman “It was in 1946 that a young engineer, H. David Dalquist, Sr., returned to Minneapolis from his World War II duties, and with his brother started a small company, Northland Aluminum Products, in the family basement, to cast aluminum into industrial products” (One can imagine that products made of aluminum would have been a hot commodity now that aluminum was no longer rationed after the end of the war.)

As Dalquist developed his expertise in aluminum casting, he began to branch out into a few consumer products, including cake pans that he sold by mail order through advertisements in decorating magazines.

As Dalquist himself told the story, one day in 1949, a trio of “very nice ladies” from the local Hadassah chapter of Minneapolis approached him. They described a handmade ceramic baking mold that the chapter’s president had inherited from her European grandmother. The ladies explained that it was used to make bundkuchens, party or ‘gathering’ cakes. It was round and scrolled and like several other European baking pans, had a tube running up the center of the mold…they wanted to know if Dalquist could make them such a thing in metal. Dalquist could and he did. The ladies of Hadassah were happy and Dalquist was pleased enough to add the pan to his “Nordic Ware” line. The cake pan did well right from the beginning, say the people at Nordic Ware, mostly because women’s magazine used the pan for pretty cake photos.

Gerry Schremp, author of KITCHEN CULTURE/FIFTY YEARS OF FOOD FADS, says that sales were slow until the 1960 Good Housekeeping cookbook featured a color picture of a pound cake made in a Bundt pan. Twenty years later, sales took off even more when a lighter-weight Bundt pan was created.

Nordic Ware today is no longer being created in someone’s basement; they have a 270,000 square foot state of the art manufacturing facility with 14 molding pressers, 16 metal forming presses and six high production coating lines.

After Ella Helfrich created Tunnel of Fudge Cake—which has gone through a number of revisions since the original 1966 creation—every woman in America had to have a Bundt pan—and the people at Pillsbury were no slouches; Dalquist began entertaining the big wigs at Pillsbury…serving, of course, elegant Bundt cakes for dessert, and a deal was cooked…er, baked up.

If you browse through your old Bake-Off cookbooks, starting with the 16th Bake off contest, you will find American ingenuity at work, as contest finalists created a myriad of Bundt cakes, from Hideaway Chocolate Cake, in the 17th edition, to Fudge Brown Ring Cake, in the 24th. On the cover of Bake Off #23 is a prize winning photo of Butterscotch rum Ripple Cake and, of course, it was baked in a Bundt pan.

Gerry Schremp says that, by 1972, eleven of the top hundred winners in the Bake-Off contest had recipes which called for a Bundt pan; the grand prize THAT year was a Bundt Streusel Spice Cake.

The Pillsbury people have always been ever-vigilant when a good thing comes along. In 1974, they published PILLSBURY’S BEST BUNDT RECIPES, 100 delicious bread and cake recipes to make in your new fluted tube pan.  Then in 1977, Pillsbury came out with 100 NEW BUNDT IDEAS, which manages to incorporate recipes for main dishes, salads, breads, desserts, and cakes—all made with the versatile Bundt cake pan.  As I leafed through these two booklets, I discovered a wealth of exciting recipes including recipes for “scratch cakes” – you know, those cakes some of us still make without using a mix.

With the advent of Issue #26 of the Bake Off books, another creative cook produced chocolate toffee crescent bars, made with crescent dinner rolls and a whole flurry of new recipes were created with crescent dinner rolls as the basic ingredient—but that’s another story we’ll have to pursue another time.

However, the upshot of the 1966 Tunnel of Fudge Cake recipe was that Pillsbury created an entire line of Bundt Cake mixes, and offered the housewives of America a sweet deal – Nordic Ware Cake pans together with its cake mix.

Dalquist said that no matter how many pans Pillsbury ordered, the amount was underestimated. For about 18 months in the 1970s, in a kind of Bundt-mix-mania,  Nordic Ware was working to capacity, manufacturing 30,000 Bundt Pans daily to keep up with the demand. (By the early 90s, more than 40 million of the pans had been manufactured).

Eventually, Pillsbury took the Bundt cake mixes out of the product line. However, instructions for making a Bundt cake can still be found on the boxes of cake mixes and most of us still have a Bundt cake pan or two on our pantry shelves. (Actually, I think I have half a dozen including my Angel Food cake tube pans—in more recent years Nordic Ware began manufacturing some brand-new wonderfully designed Bundt pans). For those of us who still want to make Bundt cakes from scratch or have a myriad of Bundt cake mixes in our recipe files, Nordic Ware put out a Bundt cookbook which was available directly from Nordic Ware.

Some of us still have the little Nordic Ware  recipe booklet that came with our original Bundt pan; it contains quite a few Bundt cake recipes, including one for Tunnel of Fudge cake..although my booklet offers the original recipe and you can no longer buy Creamy double Dutch Frosting Mix (an essential ingredient in making the original Tunnel of Fudge cake).

Some time ago, I mentioned a Bundt cake to my daughter in law, Keara, who had no idea what I was talking about. I gave her an extra Bundt cake pan that I had (still in its original box) along with a fistful of recipes to try. She was enchanted with the cake pan – Pillsbury people take note – there’s a whole new generation of prospective cake bakers coming along—but she was especially pleased to discover its other possibilities. She called me one day, excitedly, to say “This Bundt pan makes a great Jello mold!”

Meanwhile, time marches on. The theme for the 38th Bake-Off contest held in Orlando Florida was “Quick & Easy”. The winning one-million dollar recipe was Salsa Couscous Chicken. You don’t need a Bundt cake pan or a package of Crescent rolls to make it.

The $1 million Grand Prize recipe for the 43rd Pillsbury Bake-off contest was, Double-Delight Peanut Butter Cookies, created by Carolyn Gurtz of Gaithersburg, Maryland

Now fast forward to the 45th Bake-Off contest which features, on its cover, a Carrot Cake Tart. That is not the million dollar first prize winner. THAT went to the                       person who created Pumpkin Ravioli with Salted Caramel Whipped Cream. You don’t need a Bundt cake pan or a package of crescent rolls to make it. I miss the good old days.

And if you want to try your hand at making the not-tunnel-of-fudge-cake but a close imitation, try the following which I came across somewhere in my travels. It’s from as newspaper clipping:

ALMOST LIKE A TUNNEL OF FUDGE CAKE

Ingredients

  • 1 3/4 cups margarine, softened
  • 1 3/4 cups white sugar
  • 6 eggs
  • 2 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 cups chopped walnuts
  • 3/4 cup confectioners’ sugar
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 tablespoons milk

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour a 10 inch Bundt pan.
  2. In a large bowl, cream together the butter and white sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in the eggs one at a time. Gradually blend in 2 cups confectioners’ sugar. Beat in the flour and 3/4 cup cocoa powder. Stir in the chopped walnuts. Pour batter into prepared pan.
  3. Bake in the preheated oven for 60 to 65 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean. Let cool in pan for 1 hour, then turn out onto a wire rack and cool completely.
  4. For the glaze: In a small bowl, combine 3/4 cup confectioners’ sugar and 1/4 cup cocoa. Stir in milk, a tablespoon at a time, until desired drizzling consistency is achieved. Spoon over cake.

I have been collecting the Bake Off cookbooklets for years – and consequently, have duplicates of quite a few. Write to me if there is a particular bake off booklet you are looking for! I’ll see if I have it!

–Sandra Lee Smith

31 responses to “COLLECTING PILLSBURY BAKE OFF COOKBOOKS

  1. That is really fascinating, You’re an overly skilled blogger. I’ve joined your rss feed and sit up for in search of more of your great post. Additionally, I have shared your site in my social networks

  2. This is really nice idea dude.iam really proud of you . Do u have twitter?? i want to follow you .thx

  3. Chris did use a crescent product when she won the Million $$$ at the 45th PBO – she used the newer (and great — you don’t have to press those little cut marks out! — crescent recipe creations. And its a great recipe!

  4. that’s how far behind I am on things – I didnt even know there was a different crescent roll package. interesting, Shirley. xo Sandy

  5. I have a cookbook , first edition from the first Cook Off contest at the Waldorf Astoria in 1949. Its for sale if anyone is interested. Contact me at brent@craigfamilyfarm.com…..thanks

    • There should be some people interested in this – I dont know what the current value is at this time. I have one of the first booklets too–but found mine at a flea market sale in Palm Springs years ago & got it for a dollar.

  6. Do you have the 1949 book?

  7. I’m looking for a bread recipe that my mother made in the 60’s. I know she had many of the bake-off books at that time, but I don’t know if the recipe was from a bake-off or the newspaper. It was called Peasant Bread. It was a nice heavy bread and we ate it with homemade soup. I would love to find that recipe. Can you tell me if it was from one of the bake-off’s?

    • Mary, tomorrow when I have some free time, I will go through my bake off books for the 60s and see what I can find. Peasant bread has a familiar ring – will get back to you after I do some searching. – Sandy

  8. I am trying to find a price list for a friend that collects the PBO books. Any idea where I can find one?
    Thank You,
    DeAnna

    • Hello De Anna – I’m not sure there IS such a thing – and bake off booklets, when you find them, can be all sorts of prices. I have seen them marked $3 or $4 each in antique stores (almost always well over priced) – but I have found them for ten cents each at my Friends of the Library sales – generally they will put half a dozen booklets or small cookbooks and call it a dollar. sometimes they are in good condition and sometimes not so. Your email is making me think that this might be a project that is well overdue and maybe I can start working on a list. I have written several times about the bake off books – and I have a friend who was a contestant in a couple of them (I’ll have to ask her what she thinks) – the only one I can speak of with any certainty is the #1 bake off booklet which does not SAY its #1 – you just have to find it, generally accidentally. I found #1 at a flea market in Palm springs one year —all these booklets were in a box marked 50c each and I picked up the #1 without knowing that it was – the woman said OH, I cant sell THAT one for 50c that is a dollar. and I hedged because I hate when people do that – but I shrugged and said ok, and gave her a dollar for it. When we got back to the car – I was with my older sister and one of her daughters who lives in Palm Desert – I began to look at the booklet and I began going OMG, OMG, (although we didnt have an OMG saying that long ago – I was SO excited. If I were to ever sell it I would try to get $50 because I think that one is worth the price – at one time it was up to $75. But here’s the thing – a book, any book is only worth as much as someone is willing to pay for it. I have collected bake off books just because I find them for a quarter or less – have put together “sets” for a younger sister and a friend – but not with #1 – I never found another one. Well, you have given me an idea. I’ll see what I can do with it.
      Regards, Sandy@sandychatter

  9. I recently have come into posession of a first edition grand national recipe and baking contest pillsbury cook book. Looking to sell. If interested plz contact me by email. Thank you so much. Lisa philpott

    • Hi..
      I am looking for the first cookbook and see you have one to sell. Do you still have it or am I to late?
      Thanks,
      Amy

      • sorry they are really scarce and hard to find. And it doesn’t SAY anywhere that it’s #1! I’ll have to find my copy of that edition and see if I can post a photo of it – I often can’t photo pictures onto my blog – I USED to be able to do this but WordPress “improves” things every so often and then you are back to square 1 learning how to do anything. (wordpress are you reading this???)

  10. Do you have the recipe for the Pillsbury Bkeoff Hot Fudge Sundae cake?
    I moved awhile ago amd that a Bake Off book is lost.

  11. Hi. I’m glad I found your site. I’m looking for an old Pillsbury cookbook my mom used to have, along with the bake-off book from 1968. It contained all courses (not just cakes). The recipes I remember are Budget Steak Diane, baked spaghetti & cinnamon rolls (pg. 53 if I’m remembering correctly). Near the back in the desserts, there was a picture of two sweet old ladies sipping brightly colored drinks with a plate of petit fours. I ‘believe’ there was a ham on the cover. And the inside covers had the red-toned divided pics. Do you possibly know which book this is?

    • Hello Tonia – I can’t remember a ham being on any of the covers – I got some of them out to look through…the books are numbered–for instance, the Bake off cookbook from the 18th annual bake off has a chocolate cake on the cover and bless me if I can find a YEAR on some of these booklets. Your description sounds like an early bake off book–I’ll start going through all of them to see if I can find the one you need. I have a lot of doubles. – Sandy

    • Hello again, Tonia. I got all of my bake off book off the shelf. The 19th bake off contest which has a pie on the cover, was published in 1968 – I have not found any of the recipes you remember. I took out the 17th, 18th, 20th and 21st bake off books as well. I’m batting zero so far – I haven’t found any of the recipes you remember and I haven’t found a bake off booklet with a ham on the cover–not to say there aren’t other non-cake-cookie-dessert recipes in any of the booklets or other main dishes on the covers – the 21st bake off cookbooklet features something like a hamburger pie. Am I correct that you are looking for a copy of the bake off book from 1968? not the Pillsbury cookbook your mother had? – I would love to be able to help you but I think it might be more helpful to search through Pillsbury cookbooks for the particular recipes. Maybe someone reading this will recognize the book from your descriptions. – regards, Sandy

      • Thanks Sandy. I’m not sure if it was a bake off book. I’m going to ask my mom a few more questions about it. Thanks for all your research. 😄

  12. Tonia, I got to thinking – there have been a lot of “best of the” bake off cookbooks; does your mother still have the cookbook? let me know if you learn anything else. I MAY have what you are looking for.

  13. Hi. So glad I found your website. I went to find my Pillsbury 16th Grand National 100 New Bake-Off Recipes and all I have left for some reason is the front cover 😢. The cover photo does not show the winning recipe but does show the recipe for the Fudge Ribbon Cake – not to be confused with the fudge tunnel cake. I have made this recipe since a teen and am devastated that I can’t find it. Do you have this book and if so, would you mind, pretty please sharing the recipe? I wanted to make it for a bake sale fundraiser this week. Thank you for your time and consideration.

    • Cheri, did you ever find the fudge ribbon cake recipe? if it is in the 16th bakeoff I can copy & send it to you or post it. I have a hard time keeping up with the messages on the blog. – sandy

  14. Hello; I have the 3rd Grand National 100 prize winning recipes cook book First addition from Ann Pillsbury, dated 1951. Does anyone know what the Value may be ?

    • sorry, probably not much – I have duplicate issues of all the early bake off books. they turn up in flea markets (that was how I found #1 –bought it for a dollar. You might try collecting a full set and see how far it gets you. might be worth more too. – Sandra

  15. Do you have any idea when the recipe for the cookie Almond Butter Sticks were part of the Pillsbury Bake Off? It had to be before 1969 as I find it in a compilation of Favorite recipes published in that year

    • Robert–I am not familiar with the recipe but will go through my bake off books tomorrow, in my library where they are all filed. I’m curious so will start with 1969 and work backwards.
      to be continued! -= Sandra

Leave a comment