SIMPLY THE BEST (subtitle 250 prize winning family recipes)

SIMPLY THE BEST is a Weight watcher cookbook – mine is a soft-cover cookbook that I acquired somewhere along the way. It wasn’t surprising. I originally joined Weight Watchers around 1984 along with a girlfriend. We’d go to a meeting one evening a week and after weighing in and attending the meeting, we’d go next door where they served some kind of ice cream dessert that was “Weight Watcher approved” My friend moved up north and I eventually switched to a meeting that was closer to home. As time went by, I would re-gain the weight (by not attending the meetings) and return to Weight Watcher meetings. I made several girlfriends along the way.

Back in 2006, I returned to Weight Watchers and this time maintained my dedication to losing excess weight. I weighed, I believe, 183 pounds at the time I returned to Weight Watcher meetings (I have been a lifetime member for many years–as long as I am not overweight, I don’t have to pay for attending the meetings).

One thing I would like to point out to anyone who is interested–is that you don’t have to be overweight or interested in a weight loss cookbook to add them to your collection. The original cookbooks aren’t as interesting as the more recent, such as SIMPLY THE BEST, which contains 250 prize winning recipes, including some luscious colored photographs.

For instance, I collect soup recipes everywhere I can find them–SIMPLY THE BEST offers recipes for Gazpacho, Hearty Chicken-Vegetable Soup, Harvest Chicken Chowder, Skinny New England Clam Chowder, Tortellini Soup, Mushroom-Barley Soup–all this and more!

Equally impressive are the recipes for fish/seafood – such as Florentine Orange Roughy, Greek Baked Fish with Vegetables, Zesty Flounder and Ginger Shrimp Stir-Fry, just to name a few.

Included with the detailed recipes are equally detailed lists of ingredients. Another feature is a list of Recipe Symbols–ranging from those that can be made ahead to vegetarian.

Another feature in the introduction is the story of how this particular WW cookbook came into existence. After testing and retesting, Weight Watchers whittled the best down to 250 prize winning family recipes.

I checked Amazon.com for the availability of copies–pre-owned copies of SIMPLY THE BEST start around 99c and up. Remember that when you order a preowned copy there is a charge of $3.99 for shipping and handling. Generally, these copies are being offered by pre-owned sources…what we used to think of as used bookstore owners. Over time I have discovered which pre-owned sources are the most reliable.

SIMPLY THE BEST is a terrific cookbook to add to your collection. Published in 1997, it is a valuable addition to your collection.

Review by Sandra Lee Smith

Leave a Reply

