THE CHRISTMAS DOLL HOUSE

(Originally titled “Something about Doll Houses 2006” and featured in the Inky Trail News Newsletter)

When I was a little girl, Santa brought me a dollhouse for Christmas one year. I think I was about five years old.  It was one of those 40s tin-dollhouses, furnished with Bakelite furniture and a bendable family of four. I loved that dollhouse and spent many hours playing with it and rearranging the furniture. Then when I was about twelve, I came home from school one day to discover that my mother had given my dollhouse to an acquaintance for her daughter. I was horrified.

“You never played with it anymore!” my mother claimed. (It was the bane of my existence, as well as that of my siblings, that our mother would arbitrarily decide which of your possessions you could keep and which she would decide to give away. While she kept things like used envelopes (to make lists), all shapes and sizes of plastic containers, empty lipstick tubes  and all string and rubber bands—she gave away my brothers’ baseball card collections and collections of comic books—or equally perversely, she would decide to burn those things. If something was in her basement or under her roof, it was hers to dispose of. That was my mother. One time my son Steve asked her if he could have a few of the comic books that were stored in the basement. She said no, and later got rid of all of them.)

She was mistaken about the dollhouse. I did play with it. I never tired of rearranging the furniture and moving the dolls around. I had a tiny little lamp that you could hold close to an actual light and then the tiny lamp glowed in the dark. (Needless to say, this dollhouse didn’t have real, working lights!)

I never quite got over my mother giving away that dollhouse. Obviously, I was ripe for collecting dollhouses. I didn’t intend to collect dollhouses but I’ve heard that if you have more than three of something, it’s a collection.

I found the first dollhouse in a thrift store in Burbank. It was in five or six pieces and the price was ten dollars. A girlfriend helped me carry the pieces to my car. Bob put the frame back together and it sat on a coffee table in the living room for several years without any additional remodeling.  We began collecting an assortment of tiny dolls and dollhouse furniture. My niece and nephews and grandchildren played with it whenever they visited. But I wanted a Christmas Dollhouse. Bob began working on the dollhouse in his spare time. It became his hobby.

In 1997, we finally got the dollhouse up and decorated. It turned out too cute for words. We bought some strings of itty bitty lights and put up a Christmas tree in the living room of the doll house along with a Santa and his sleigh on the rooftop, taking off with his reindeer.

We spent two weeks adding fine touches; one night I was laying on the floor in front of the doll house, sticking furniture inside, and Bob was handing me pieces from a basket of “stuff” we had collected..when he suddenly says, “You know, we could be committed for this. Most people would say we’re crazy.”  But we had such a good time with the dollhouse – not just the decorating and remodeling, but spending hours poring over miniature catalogs we received in the mail. It became our joint hobby.

Another time, he said to me, “You should take that bed out of the master bedroom” and I said “well, gee, then we wouldn’t have a BED in the master bedroom” and HE says “yeah, and then you wouldn’t have all those BABIES in the nursery.” (Our nursery had about 10 little babydolls in it. I think 3 are triplets. They started taking on a life of their own).

That house looked darling alongside the tree!  The following year we began to finish off the 3rd floor, creating a teen-age girls room and a bathroom. One time I found miniature ball gowns at a shop in Disneyland—creations patterned after the various Disney princesses; I bought two of the dresses which I think were intended to be Christmas ornaments—and then decided that, since we had those dresses, the two teenage girls were going to a ball that night. Since the two teenage girls were getting ready to go to a dance, a girlfriend made petticoats for them to have on.

The Christmas doll house became an on-going project for many years. The dollhouse mother is in the kitchen putting finishing touches on a gingerbread house; the dollhouse father is about to eat a Dagwood sandwich and sits in the living room which has a Christmas tree and a lot of presents and toys – the babies are all snug in their beds while Santa Claus is taking off in his sleigh, on the rooftop.

Every so often I’d find something perfect for the dollhouse–one year a Hallmark ornament that is a refrigerator, just the right size for the dollhouse—another year a Hallmark stove.

The rooms light up and we calculate that some of the lamps, and the chandelier, cost more than some of our real household lamps. That Christmas dollhouse became our pride and joy.

*This post was originally written some years ago, for Inky Trail News, a newsletter for women and seniors.  Since writing the original version, Bob passed away, on September 22, 2011.

 

5 responses to “THE CHRISTMAS DOLL HOUSE

  1. Beautiful post. You were so lucky for the time you had with Bob.
    Lillian

  2. I had to give up my dollhouse at age 10 when we moved from Ohio to California. I never got over it. I gave it to a future Miss Ohio and now have another on the counter in my kitchen. I really enjoyed your sharing this.

    • Isnt it funny how we were both forced to give up our dollhouses and never got over it? My Christmas dollhouse is on the entertainment center in the living room – about where you would be putting a TV or stereo if not for the dollhouse. thank you for writing, Judy. I so enjoyed your message. Can you send a picture of your dollhouse on the kitchen counter??? try sending to ssmith00281@verizon.net. I dont know if you can send a photo via my blog. but if you can SEND a photo to me, I can upload it to my blog. 🙂

  3. I so loved reading about your love of dollhouses. I never had one as a child, only carpet squares to play with my plastic furniture in the 50’s. I now have collected “three”. One we are currently remodeling with a modernista style that was built 30 years ago for our daughter and she is helping with refurbishing. What fun! I acquired two others and your description brought happy memories back of my moving my dolls around just as you did and I too, never tired of it. Thanks for sharing!

    • Dear Ouida, Thank you for writing – my BF for twenty something years was the person who did the painting, shingling, woodwork on our dollhouses. He was working on a big dollhouse I bought from some people YEARS ago – and its been in limbo since he died. I have several of the tin (or steel?) dollhouses from the 50s – but the only one still in place in the living room now is the Christmas doll house. it was a great shared hobby and its probably one of the things I miss most about Bob. – Sandy

Leave a Reply

