DEAR S.O.S. COOKBOOKS WRITTEN BY ROSE DOSTI

I think the oldest cookbook by Rose Dosti that I have in my personal collection of cookbooks is LIGHT STYLE , subtitled the New American Cuisine, co-authored with Deborah Kidushim and Mark Wolke, first published by Harper & Row  in 1979. An updated version of LIGHT STYLE was published in 1991.

Rose Dosti wrote MIDDLE EASTERN COOKING in 1987

She had the longest tenure at the Los Angeles Times newspaper, starting in 1964, ending in 1994. During that time, Rose compiled and edited the three S.O.S. cookbooks:

DEAR S.O.S. – THIRTY YEARS OF RECIPE REQUESTS (to the Los Angeles Times) was first printed in 1994.

DEAR S.O.S. – DESSERT RECIPE REQUESTS (to the Los Angeles Times) was published in 1996

DEAR S.O.S. – FAVORITE RESTAURANTS FROM THE LOS ANGELES TIMES was published in 2001.

MIDEAST & MEDITERRANEAN CUISINES was published in 1993.

I confess to being unaware of Dosti’s THE NEW CALIFORNIA CUISINE published in 1987 – I have it on order, now, from Amazon.com.

If Dosti has written any other cookbooks since 2001, I am not aware of them. I read somewhere that she had eight cookbooks under her belt, and I have now accounted for eight.

Newspaper and/or magazine food writers are in a league all their own; I wish  more food writers would return to the format still popular in small towns throughout the USA – occasionally, a penpal will send me some of these newspaper columns and I love them.

Rose Dosti, where ever you are, we miss you!

–Sandra Lee Smith

Leave a Reply

