I LOVE A BOOKSTORE

I love a bookstore any day
Or any time.
It can be a lush and fancy upscale store
In Beverly Hills
Where you can order coffee
Tea or muffins,
And sit and sip
While you look
Through your books.
Or an out of the way
Dusty cubbyhole bookstore
In West L.A. -new or used,
I don’t mind.
Let me visit a town
In Oregon
Or San Diego
Or Cincinnati.
I’ll find a bookstore
(Usually in the yellow pages)
And once inside,
Aim first for the cookbook section.
Once my arms are laden with books
I ask someone at the desk
To hold them for me.
They always say yes.
Then I check biographies
And fiction.
Then the bargain books
And reduced prices;
You never know what
Might turn up in remainders.
I have been to bookstores
Every where I’ve traveled;
It’s the first place I want to visit.
No used bookstores?
I look up the Barnes & Noble,
Border’s, Dutton’s, anything.
Anywhere.
I’m not particular.
The biggest problem
I have encountered
Over the years
Has been
Getting them home.
Packing the books into
Duffle bags
Or shipping them
Back to California.
I lost a box of books
This way last year.
Enroute from Ohio
To California
My books were lost
In Bell, California.
Somewhere,
I know,
Someone has my
Box of cookbooks.
Next time
I’ll carry them
On the airplane
With me.

Sandra Lee Smith
April, 2008

Leave a Reply

