HOW I WRITE

Someone wrote a message to me – and I apologize, somehow I lost that original message–asking how I write, how I clear my mind, what techniques I use to write. To tell the truth, I really don’t do anything special except sit down and start typing. Often though, if whatever I am writing requires some research, I do all of that first. I have a very large cookbook collection (about 10,000 books we think) and often, I can just start pulling books off shelves to look up what I am trying to write about. I have 3 bookcases full of food/cookbook/recipe related books and most of the time what I need to look up is at my fingertips. If it ISN’T, I start googing.
Also want to say, I do my best writing early in the morning when the rest of the house is asleep. (However, YEARS ago when my sons were growing up, I did most of my writing late at night when they were all asleep.

When I have an idea in my head and know where it’s going to start, I can usually sit down and start typing. I have a radio on all of the time to block out any other outside noise. It’s an easy listening station popular in the greater Los Angeles area. When I was raising four sons and trying to write – I learned how to block out anything I didnt want to hear. Of course, screams and the mention of blood usuall caught my attention. lol. And, I have to admit, I have bulging files of material from things I’ve written over the past 30 years – often I can dig out an old article and start rewriting.

I hope this answers your question, whoever you are!

Sandy

Leave a Reply

