Potato Cheese Soup

While talking to myself about what recipe to share with you next on my blog, I found myself making a pot of potato cheese soup this afternoon for my daughter in law, who was just diagnosed with an ulcer and is having some problems. She can’t eat my regular homemade vegetable beef soup because I put a lot of cabbage in it, so my son bought some of the Marie Callender’s potato soup for her yesterday. And I thought to myself-

I bet I can find the recipe on Google. So I did and in the process came across a website I used to belong to, and receive weekly emails from, something called Chef2Chef – which I think is aimed primarily at professionals but they don’t seem to object to having some amateurs sign up to receive emails. (Personally, anything food related is right up my alley and every time I find a website like this, I immediately sign up). But I changed servers a couple of weeks ago and you know, you always lose some of your email addresses in the process. (yes, despite the Verizon promise to “switch everything over”).  Anyway, the soup is in a pot cooling…I think it’s too thin so I am going to pick up some instant potatoes to thicken it. I might have used more water to cook the potatoes, celery, and onion – than the originator of the recipe wanted. Here is the recipe exactly as it was printed:

Title: Marie Callender’S Potato Cheese Soup
Yield: 8 Servings

Ingredients

8 cups peeled and cubed potatoes
2 cups peeled and chopped onions
4 cups chopped celery
2 tsp salt
4 cups half and half
6 TBSP butter or margarine
1 cup shredded sharp Cheddar cheese
4 TBSP chopped fresh parsley; -optional garnish

Instructions

Marie Callender’s is a chain of restaurants in the southwest (US). Sister
companies are: Chi-Chi’s restaurants, Taco Bell, Claim Jumper, El Torito
and the Cheesecake Factory.

1. Place potatoes, onions, celery and salt in water to cover in a large
pot. Simmer until tender, about 15 minutes.

2. Put in blender or food processor fitted with the metal blade and puree
until chunky.

3. Return to soup pot; add half-and-half, butter and cheese. Stirring,
simmer until piping hot. (Do not boil.)

Presentation: Garnish with parsley if desired. Good served with corn bread.

Serve 1.5-cups per person (approx). 352 cals, 27g fat (68% cff)

Leave a Reply

