WHEN THINGS GO BUMP IN THE NIGHT AND DISAPPEAR FROM SIGHT

In Real Life Adventures years ago, there was a cartoon of a woman sitting on the floor surrounded by dozens (hundreds?) of recipes or pieces of paper with the caption “The biggest problem with following the recipe is finding the recipe” – and that is me to a “T”.  You know your collection of recipe cards (or cookbooks) has grown to mammoth proportions when you can’t find the recipe (or the cookbook) you are looking for.

I decided to write about this in the hopes that, by putting it out “There” (in the universe), enlightenment will strike me like lightning and I will sudden remember what I did with the three things now missing.

The first to “go missing” (an expression that Grandpa Bob loathed, by the way) was my green shirt, one I bought in South Dakota in June. I have a dark pink one just like it. I remember putting the green shirt on a hanger thinking it needed to be ironed before I could wear it again. So when I got out the ironing board (seldom used these days) and the iron, to press my shirts and tops, I looked for the green shirt – and it was missing. (And I have all of my tops and shirts grouped by colors. It should be with the green tops and shirts. It isn’t. but I looked through ALL of my shirts and tops not once or twice but five or six times. I also looked through Grandpa Bob’s closet, where I am now storing jackets and coats, and Savannah’s closet, which is in the spare bedroom. NO SHIRT. I have gone through all the laundry and looked in drawers. NO shirt.

Then  about a week or two ago, I lost my new jacket – also purchased in South Dakota in June. I thought maybe I had left it at the bowling alley but no one I talked to (or the girls in lost and found) knew anything about it. It’s just gone. Or gone missing if that expression doesn’t bother you.

NOW, since yesterday I have been searching for a cookbook to respond to inquiries from a woman living in the U.K. regarding my post Court Favorites.  Well, I finally found the cookbook but it didn’t contain the recipe I was looking for. L yikes!

Most recently, while unpacking Christmas decorations, I began searching for a green depression glass bowl that always looked pretty filled with glass tree ornaments. It’s gone. Did I give it away or did it just disappear like my jacket and shirt? I called the one girlfriend I would have conceivably given it to, and she doesn’t have it.

Well, last week I went shopping with my daughter-in-law and while I used the restroom (something I invariably have to do when I am out shopping), Keara went to the Christmas decorations—we were searching for a pig ornament for her niece, who is six, and auntie Keara nicknamed her piggy when she was a toddler. As I was walking through women’s wear – I spotted MY JACKET. Well, it wasn’t really MY jacket, of course, but it was identical so I bought it even though I have a closetful of jackets. We had coupons for 20% off and some other discount incentives so that the jacket didn’t cost me nearly as much as the price on the jacket. And no, they didn’t have a piggy ornaments. No one did.  We came close at Target, found a wonderful piggy ornament but the one on display was broken and there weren’t any more. (I can easily go into another whole tirade about the pitfalls of shopping during the holidays or any other time of the year. Actually, I prefer to do my shopping online any time possible). After a few hours of searching for gifts – we did find shirts for my youngest son, who is over six feet tall and needs specific shirts or tops for Big & Tall men. I found a wonderful baby doll for my youngest “adopted” granddaughter, Abby, who is Keara’s sister Sara’s daughter. Keara’s sisters’ children have adopted me as their grammy so I have adopted them as my granddaughters. (This is all confusing for long time friends when I write about my two little granddaughters, ages six and two).  I have been blessed. This is as good a time as any, as Christmas draws near, to remind myself that you don’t have to have a blood relationship with children who want to call you “grammy”.

So as a final note, when things go bump in the night or disappear from sight—is it really important in the great scheme of things?  Oh, yes, and now my little ceramic thimble with a lighthouse painted on it – has gone missing too.  I was using it to make thumbprint cookies. Now it’s GONE MISSING” (Grandpa would be having a fit if he ever heard me say this!)

Merry Christmas! I say this to every person I come in contact with, mostly in  stores, but my bank and supermarket, and other stores as well. They say “thank you” and I call out “MERRY CHRISTMAS!”

Somebody has to do it.  I hope you do, too.

Sandy

 

5 responses to “WHEN THINGS GO BUMP IN THE NIGHT AND DISAPPEAR FROM SIGHT

  1. Stuff goes missing here all the time. And I believe it “goes” missing because it it never where I put it. I am sure!

  2. and what”s more are never seen again. When my sons were gr owing up they were usually the culprits–like taking a bowl to drain the oil in a car, – or using good towels for rags – but these are things I never find again. I finally replaced the purple jacket – I found one (seredipity) exactly like it in Kohl’s and bought it without a second thought. I know that first one is gone. I think now I left it at bowling and someone picked it up and kept it. It wasnt turned in. Thanks for letting me know…I am not alone! Did uou make pomegranate jelly? if not, send me your address by private email & I will try to send you a jar after the holidays are over. You can write to me at ssmith00281@verizon.net. Regards, Sandy

  3. First of all I want to say wonderful blog!
    I had a quick question that I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.

    I was curious to know how you center yourself and clear your head prior to writing.

    I have had a hard time clearing my mind in getting my ideas out there.
    I truly do take pleasure in writing but it
    just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are usually wasted simply just trying to figure out how
    to begin. Any ideas or tips? Kudos!

    • Hi, wanted to share a few thoughts about this with you. I never lack the material to write ABOUT – finding uninterrupted time to write it can be another story. You need to allow a certain amount of time for writing every day….and even if you don’t actually WRITE–if you are researching material, that’s still working at being a writer. A lot of detail comes from researching my material–and after that, I suggest turning off any tvs or radios that are on, clearing your mind, maybe meditating for a few minutes and see what happens. and keep a journal – sometimes just writing in a notebook about what is happening in your life can be inspiring.
      Good luck!
      Sandy

  4. Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you penning this post and also the rest of the
    website is extremely good.

Leave a Reply

