TULSA STATE FAIR COOKBOOK AND AQ FEW OTHER FAVORITE FAIR COOKBOOKS

While I am on the subject of fair cookbooks, I came across another, titled TULSA STATE FAIR COOKBOOK.  This was the 2nd annual prize winning recipes cookbook, published in 1999. I have been unable to determine how many cookbooks were published.

I’ve had a soft spot in my heart for Tulsa for many years.  Nearby is the town of Skiatook where my penpal, Penny, lives.  We became penpals in the late 1960s, I think. When my then-husband and children drove across country one summer to visit our families in Cincinnati, we were invited to spend a night with my friends in Skiatook.  It was a wonderful experience—so much so that the following year and the year after THAT, my children and I returned to California by BUS (after spending the summer with my family) so we could detour in Tulsa and spend more time with Penny and her children. It was during one of those vacation trips that we all visited a place called Woolaroc.  Some of the most beautiful paintings I have ever seen are housed in the Indian museum there.

(I’d like to add that I have had penpals all my adult life and have had the joy of meeting many of them. My parents were always perplexed by these friendships When we stopped to spend a night in Skiatook, my baffled father kept asking afterwards “WHERE do you know these people from?”)

So, it was a great delight to find the TULSA STATE FAIR COOKBOOK, and as you might expect, it’s jam packed full of award-winning recipes. There is even a kids section – and say, some of these recipes sound like something my nephews and nieces would enjoy putting together. “How does My Sweet dirty Grimy Pizza with Gummy Worms”  grab you?

Other (perhaps more traditional) recipes include ham BBQ, Gingered Orange Biscotti, Down Home Apple Cheddar Pie..and the winning Spam contest entries. (Spam Stuffer sounds especially good!)

You can get an idea of what is gaining popularity throughout the USA  when you read a state fair cookbook; aside from that there’s no better way to add really great recipes to your collection; you know these are all award winning recipes so they have to be good!

Amazon.com, alibris.com and several other vendors have available a 2004-2006 Tulsa State Fair cookbook which is, in my opinion, greatly overpriced. I haven’t found one for the 1999 cookbook I originally reviewed for the Cookbook Collectors Exchange.

In 2007, the Oklahoma State Fair celebrated with a cookbook, “Oklahoma State ‘Fare’” which provided some prize-winning recipes from past fairs as well as recipes provided by Oklahoma celebrities and plenty of Oklahoma Centennial-related information and recollections. (Amazon.com has one Oklahoma State Fair cookbook listed at $15.00).

However, some of the Blue Ribbon state and county fair cookbooks you might want to search for might include

BLUE RIBBON USA PRIZEW8INNING RECIPES FROM STATE AND COUNTY FAIRS by Georgia Orcutt & John Margolies, published in 2007 (hardcover)

FOOD FESTIVAL, USA, 250 RED, WHITE AND BLUE RIBBON RECIPES FROM ALL 50 STATES by Becky Mercuri, foreword by notable food writer John T. Edge, Laurel Glen publishing in San Diego (softcover)

BLUE RIBBON WINNERS AMERICA’S BEST STATE FAIR RECIPES, by Catherine Hanley, -1993, (hardcover).

Also from Catherine Hanley THE ALL-NEW BLUE RIBBON COOKBOOK/A TREASURY OF HOME COOKING, 1997 (soft cover HP Books)

And there are many more cookbooks of this genre just waiting for you to find them!

Review by Sandra Lee Smith

One response to “TULSA STATE FAIR COOKBOOK AND AQ FEW OTHER FAVORITE FAIR COOKBOOKS

  1. It’s going to be ending of mine day, except before end I am reading this enormous piece of writing to increase my experience.

Leave a Reply

