JANE BUTEL’S COOKBOOKS & GREMLINS IN MY COMPUTER

I was working for several days to complete a list of Jane Butel’s cookbooks and trying to get them all in date order. SOMEHOW I lost the original list which should have ben included in Part 2 of Three Quite Unrelated Cookbooks and Seventy Years. I couldnt come up with 20 titles no matter how much I searched so I wrote to the author who graciously wrote back to me. The list now contains 22 titles! You will find this list useful if you decide to visit Amazon or Alibris and shop for some of Jane’s cookbooks.

She wanted me to let you all know what you can go to http://www.janebutelcooking.com and subscribe to Butels Bytes. I did some surfing around on Jane’s website over the weekend and was quite impressed. You might want to give this site a visit and perhaps become a subscriber (I am going to sign up). MEANTIME for my readers who like to know these things, here is a ist of Jane Butel’s cookbooks- and hopefully this is a complete list.(Thanks, Jane!) Sandy@sandychatter:

COCINAS DE NEW MEXICO, 1961
JANE BUTEL’S COOKBOOKS FAVORITE MEXCAN FOODS, 1968
JANE BUTEL’S FREEZER COOKBOOK 1977
JANE BUTEL’S TEX-MEX COOKBOOK, 1979
CHILI MADNESS, 1980
FINGER LICKIN’ RIB STICKIN’ GREAT TASTIN’ HOT N SPICY BARBECUE 1982
TACOS, TORTILLAS AND TOSTADOS 1982
WOMAN’S DAY BOOK OF NEW MEXCAN COOKING 1984
THE BEST OF MEXICAN COOKING 1984
HOTTER THAN HELL, 1987
FIESTA 1987
JANE BUTEL’S TEX-MEX COOKBOOK, 1993
HOTTER THAN HELL 1994 (REVISED AND EXPANDED)
JANE BUTEL’S SOUTHWESTERN KITCHEN 1994
JANE BUTEL’S SOUTHWESTERN GRILL (with Gordon McMeen) 1996
FIESTAS FOR FOUR SEASONS, 1997
JANE BUTEL’S QUICK & EASY SOUTHWESTERN COOKBOOK 1999
HOTTER THAN HELL, REVISED AND EXPANDED AND REWORKED WITH PHOTOGRAPHY, etc. 2005
REAL WOMEN EAT CHILES 2006
CHILI MADNESS, 2ND EDITION, REVISED AND EXPANDED, 2008
THE BEST OF MEXICAN COOKING 2009
REGIONAL MEXICAN COOKING FROM THE SCOTTSDALE FAIRMONT PRINCESS COOKING SCHOOL, 2009

5 responses to “JANE BUTEL’S COOKBOOKS & GREMLINS IN MY COMPUTER

  1. Even this partial list is most illuminating, Sandy. I have no idea how many of these I might have. I find myself thinking that it would be easy to assume one has various volumes, when one actually has a book with a similar title.

  2. One of the reasons I like listing titles of an author’s, if I can, Jean – for one thing I want to know what I have when I start thinking about a cookbook author. I have ordered 3 of Janet Butel’s & I think there are 3 or 4 more I want. FIRST I need to do another search in my garage library because I am almost positive I have “Chili Madness” and maybe some others as well. Well–you & I know–when you have a huge cookbook collection we dont always keep tabs (exactly) on everything we have. Janet graciously augmented my list–some were reprints/updates of earlier versions. oh, yum! I love southwestern cuisine!

  3. Thanks, Sandy. Excellent work as always. Thanks to you, I have subscribed Thanks, Sandy. Excellent work, as always.

    Thanks to your excellent work — consistently so! — now have subscribed to Jane’s newsletter. I took some classes with Jane back in the 1970s (how time does fly!) when she still lived in New York City — at least, she still was living here part-time.
    Her “Pecos Valley” brand of seasonings are marvelous.
    Best Southwestern cooking I ever have tasted before or since, except when I took a quick trip to Santa Fe and ate at “Coyote Cafe.”

  4. Thank YOU Judy, – because of the validation that I get from subscribers like you, I always feel I am on the right track with whatever I am working on. Positive feedback is always so welcome. I have subscribed to Jane’s newsletter too. And you have provided some bits of information that I didn’t know – for one thing that she lived in NY. It’s all interesting!! – Sandy

  5. Thank you for the update on Jane Butel. Think I have her 1979 Tex-Mex cookbook, and the Chili Madness one.Though in the early years of my cooking in the ’70’s, I probably made more Sunset Tex Mex recipes than any other (easy, quick, accessible, tasty), I always enjoyed Jane’s narratives and backgrounds and find her books fun and easy to thumb through. The credentialed proof reader of a church cookbook I helped with questioned my spelling of chile vs. chili, and I referenced Jane Butel’s explanation and my spelling stood!

Leave a Reply

