YOU DON’T KNOW WHAT YOU’VE GOT TIL IT’S GONE

You don’t know what you’ve got til it’s gone
(They paved paradise and put in a parking lot)

To all of my blog followers who may have been wondering ‘what’s new’ I apologize for not writing much throughout September. My significant other of 25 years passed away on September 22. He was not involved with my writing—and hardly knew a thing about computers—but I miss his presence. And if you’ve read the posts in my archive files, you would have found occasional references to Bob. Many of our projects over the decades were joint endeavors – when I canned jellies and jams, pickles and relishes, – it was Bob who hauled all of our entries to the Los Angeles County Fair. When we created a gingerbread house, he drew the blueprint for it. When we made sauerkraut, Bob was the person doing most of the shredding (I tend to cut my fingernails off).

And, I do have something new to write about; I went to Ohio for 6 days to regroup amongst family and friends and a cousin gave me a cookbook that belonged to our maternal grandmother. I’m looking forward to sharing that book with you.

Thank you for your continued interest in Sandy’s Chatter.
Sandy
October 5, 2011

8 responses to “YOU DON’T KNOW WHAT YOU’VE GOT TIL IT’S GONE

  1. So sorry for your loss

  2. I’m so sorry to hear of your loss. You have my deepest sympathy.

    Wonderful that you were able to get together with family in Ohio and to get an old family cookbook.

  3. I hope your sweet memories will help you through this hard time and that God will bless you with peace.

  4. I’m sure you loved and appreciated Bob to the fullest during the wonderful years you had together. Accept my sympathies for your loss. Thanks for sharing with us.

  5. Sandy – I am so sorry for your loss. You mentioned Bob often with such fondness and I know anyone that read your newsletter benefited from you having Bob in your life. I am so happy you were able to go to Ohio and spend time with family and friends to help you through this time.

  6. Thanks, Nancy. I hoped that my blog subscribers would remember the references I made to Bob from time to time. And last year, he reconstructed my gazebo (“The Secret Garden”) and built my garage library. did he have an inkling? I don’t know. I do know he had a very strong will to live but his body just gave out on him. He has been cremated & we are going to have a celebration of life in the spring, here at my house – and then take his ashes to Pismo Beach.

  7. Sandy, so sorry to read of your loss. Yes, I DID notice your silence, but I am dealing with a serious illness myself, so I didn’t give it much thought.

    Just this year, I married my on-again/ off-again significant other of 24 years. In light of my illness, it simply seemed like time.

    Like you, I have (or had) a bucket list, though I suspect that, by now, I am just kidding myself. Our only overlap is New Orleans; I always wanted to get there, too.

    There is no facile advice I can offer in the face of your grief. Just know that your many fans hold you and Bob in their thoughts and prayers.

  8. Oh, Judy–I am so sorry to learn about your illness. And maybe we are kidding ourselves with a bucket list but then again it gives one hope to plan or think about a future. Your comment about marrying your off again on again significant other of 24 yrs struck a chord. It would have given Bob supreme happiness to have gotten married but there were reasons why we couldnt. But I think – we were pretty much like any old married couple. Please stay in touch and let me know how you are doing. xoxo Sandy

Leave a Reply

