WHEN MAMA BAKES A CAKE (A POEM)

Sometimes when breakfast dishes have
Been washed and put away,
My mama looks at me and says
“Let’s bake a cake today!”
From a peg she takes her apron
While from a low peg, I take mine,
We tie the strings behind our backs,
And don’t we look just fine?
Mama’s biggest yellow bowl
Stands upon the kitchen table,
And I step up on a little stool,
To help, because I’m able.
Mama cracks some eggs fresh from the barn,
I take a fork and stir them up,
You have to beat those eggs a lot,
Before you can add a cup
Of sugar, butter, flour too,
And soda for the rising,
And Mama grates some nutmeg in,
For a taste that’s right surprising;
It’s my job to butter up the pans
And dust them both with flour,
And then the cakes go into bake,
And that takes ‘near an hour.
While they bake, we tidied up,
And tiptoe cross the floor,
Cause you don’t want those cakes to fall,
And have to make some more.
The kitchen fills with spicy scent,
And I can hardly stand the wait,
It’s always something special, when
My Mama bakes a cake.

–Sandra Lee Smith

2 responses to “WHEN MAMA BAKES A CAKE (A POEM)

  1. stephanie swetland

    LOVE THIS!! This poem tells a story so well that i can see it all happening and can smell the cake. I love to bake with my kids and I hope that when they are grown they too will share that love with their family.

  2. Thank you, Stephanie. That was the idea, to tell a story. I’m pleased that you “got” it.

Leave a Reply

