MORE COMFORT FOODS

This wasn’t something I really thought of as a comfort food until Bob asked me if I could make up a batch of “those cinnamon rolls”. He wasn’t able to enjoy any of them when I made up several pans of cinnamon rolls for Christmas—but his health is improving a bit and he is making tentative baby steps towards eating real food again.

And here’s how I rediscovered this recipe for cinnamon rolls – I wanted to make up a pan of them for his son Robert and daughter in law, Dee, when they paid us a visit in December. Truthfully, I have been making cinnamon rolls with that frozen Bridgeford bread dough for about a decade or longer. It was a lot easier than making cinnamon rolls from scratch. But we were out of the frozen bread dough and I didn’t feel like making a trip to the supermarket. So I found my recipe for “those” cinnamon rolls and made up a batch and they were a huge hit. Last time I made them I had Bob get out the Kitchen Aide mixer which has a dough hook – and voila! It streamlines the recipe even more. These are SO good:

COOL RISE SWEET DOUGH
5-6 cups all purpose flour
2 packages dry yeast
½ cup sugar
1 ½ tsp salt
½ cup (1 stick) butter, softened
1 ½ cups hot tap water
2 large eggs at room temperature

Mix together 2 cups of flour, the dry yeast, sugar and salt; stir. Add softened butter and hot water and beat 2 minutes at medium speed. Then add the eggs, continue beating, scrape bowl often…and add enough flour to make a soft dough. Shape into a ball; knead 5-10 minutes (you can do something else if you have a dough hook! I wash up the dishes) Then cover the dough and let it rest for 20 minutes (I let it rest in the mixing bowl). After 20 minutes, punch down and roll into a rectangle. Spread with a little melted butter; sprinkled with cinnamon sugar and (if you like) raisins or chopped nuts. Roll up lengthwise and cut into 1” rolls.

The original recipe says to place them on a cookie sheet, close together. I use a very old favorite yellow baking pan that I spray with pam. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate overnight. Next morning, let the pan come to room temperature and if it’s in a warm place, they will rise some more. Bake at 350 about 30 minutes. Drizzle with glaze if you like glaze on them (we do!). You can make a simple glaze with powdered sugar and water. I am partial to a glaze made with melted butter, powdered sugar and some water – and a little almond extract for extra flavor.

You can use this dough to make other things but we are very partial to cinnamon rolls. If you are feeding a bunch, they could be made smaller (I make very big cinnamon rolls!) . Thanks to niece Stephanie for requesting this.
**
We’ve been enjoying a lot of homemade tapioca, chocolate pudding – and (my favorite) flan. Flan, you may or may not know, can be made all in one dish, such as a deep dish pie baking dish – or if you don’t mind taking the time, you can make it in individual baking dishes. I have found SO many recipes for flan—but will only share with you what I have already tried and know that it works well. Flan, girlfriends, is a kind of custard. Most flan has a coating of carmelized sugar that is really easy to make but keep the kids away from the stove when you are doing this. Melted sugar is very hot and can easily burn. I divide the melted sugar among 5 or 6 little glass Pyrex baking dishes and let it cool. Meantime you make the flan itself, then pour it into the cups – and place them into a large pan of hot water to bake inside the oven. Well, another reason I found for using the small Pyrex dishes, I couldn’t find a baking pan large enough to hold any of my deep dish pie baking dishes.

To make a simple flan, you will need

1 large can evaporated milk
1 can sweetened condensed milk
4 large eggs
1 cup sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract

Carmelize* (melt) the cup of sugar in a pan (it will take about 10 minutes) and pour into the bottom of a Pyrex dish or 5 or 6 small Pyrex custard dishes. Mix remaining ingredients together and pour into the custard dishes over the carmelized sugar. In preheated oven cook the dessert about 35 minutes in a pan of water, until a toothpick inserted into the flan comes out clean. Let cool, then refrigerate. Well, this last part took a little learning. Loosen the chilled custard with a sharp knife. Then turn the custard dish over on a saucer and run some hot water over it briefly, to get the custard to plop out. It’s a beautiful dessert and oh-so-delicious. Probably not very low in calories.
I overbaked the first batch of flan that I made; keep an eye on it and if it looks baked, check to see if it’s done. I think the directions were based originally on flan being made in a large pie dish. The small custard dishes will cook a lot faster. (We ate the overbaked flan anyway).

*Carmelized sugar – is simply melted granulated sugar. If you cook it–I prefer a cast iron skillet but I dont know how many people still cook with these–until the sugar melts, it will turn a beautiful brown. Just be careful with it as melted sugar REALLY BURNS.

Happy Cooking!
Sandy

4 responses to “MORE COMFORT FOODS

  1. Pingback: World Spinner

  2. thank u so much for posting this! i am going to write it down and add it to my copy of the family cookbook. actually will prob copy both recipes here. i also love flan.

    • quite welcome, Stephanie! When I actually try some of the other flan recipes I will post them. I found one that is made with eggnog and we have a half gallon carton of it that hasnt been opened – so I will try that next. xo Sandy

  3. that sounds yummy. let me know how it turns out!

Leave a Reply

