WASHING DISHES

WASHING DISHES

Thank God For Dirty Dishes
Thank God for dirty dishes;
They have a tale to tell.
While others may go hungry,
We’re eating very well
With home, health, and happiness,
I shouldn’t want to fuss;
By the stack of evidence,
God’s been very good to us.
–Author unknown

WASHING DISHES

When I was about four years old
Jim would have been seven and
Becky eight going-on-nine,
It was our chore to do the dishes
After dinner every night.
Becky washed;
Jim dried,
And I put away the dishes, pots and pans
And silverware
My sister bought song books
For ten cents each
At the drug store on Carl Street.
In them were printed
All the popular songs
For the month,
And my sister propped
The song book
Behind the faucet,
So we could memorize
All the words
To all of the songs
Being sung or
Played on the radio.
We must have memorized
Hundreds of songs
And it made the time
Go by quickly.
I have wonderful memories
Of the three of us
Doing dishes together.

–Sandra Lee Smith

WASHING DISHES #2

It has never been unpleasant to me,
Washing dishes after dinner,
Hot soapy water in the sink,
My Fiesta Ware rinsed and stacked
On the counter to my left,
Ready to be washed,
Leftovers put away
In little plastic containers,
And the table cleared.
There was an orderliness about it all,
The final ritual to the evening meal.
In Arleta the kitchen sink
Was in a corner overlooking
The backyard where I could see
The bird feeder and the many
Feathered friends that visited us every day.
There was a triangular ledge
Above the sink
Where my blue glass was on display.
It was a time for contemplation
And deep thoughts,
While I washed and rinsed the dishes
And put them on a rack to air-dry.
I still have the Fiesta Ware dishes
And the blue glass is above the sink
But there isn’t a window looking out
Into the yard
I do miss that.

–Sandra Lee Smith
July, 2009

One response to “WASHING DISHES

  1. Loved the story about washing dishes #2 So sorry though that you have no window to look at your yard anymore in your new home. I have a window over my sink but I am looking directly at my neighbors house. Kitchen remodeling is finally finished and am happy with the results. I am sending just what little pics I have that Michael took of part of it

Leave a Reply

