Old cookbooks from my collection

old cookbooks from my collection

old cookbooks from my collection

9 responses to “Old cookbooks from my collection

  1. thak you so much dear share a some good information with us ….thanx …keep it up ……..from ashvin

  2. I checked into the blog today (July 24) and was amazed at the things I have learned about cookies. This is an amazing site. Thanks for solving some of my common problems. I often put my cookie pans side by side together and put cookies on a still warm sheet. No wonder there is no consistency.

    Loving to learn,
    Doreen

  3. My grandmother has an old cookbook that looks very similar to this one, but it is missing it’s cover page. She has been trying to figure out what book it is for years. It would be great to be able to tell her what it is called.
    I know this is a very old post, but if you read this and you know the name of the main cookbook pictured, I would love to know.

    Thank you,
    Mickey

    • Mickey, there were so many cookbooks featured on those pages; I’m not sure which one you mean-but more importantly, we moved a year ago & many of my books are still packed in boxes. Those photographs were taken some years ago–I still have all the books but probably 200 boxesfull are in storage right now. Can you take a closer look at your grandmother’s book and see what information you can find? Then I might be able to help you.
      Look to see if you can find a publishing date or any other publishing information. Hoping to hear from you!
      Sandy

  4. I too would like to know the name of the cookbook as my grandmother has one missing the front and back. It was original a hardcover and published by Houghton Mifflin pre 1962 – probably between 1957 – 1960. It was given to my grandmother as a wedding present, has about 750-800 pages, pictures (black and white glossy) in the middle. Any info would be greatly appreciated.

    • can you take a picture of the front of the cookbook & send it to me? I might be able to tell you more about it if I can see the cover. regards, Sandy

    • Based on what you have provided, Cindi, I haven’t a clue what cookbook you have.
      Hundreds, if not thousands, of cookbooks are published every year. More information is needed. The missing covers makes it difficult. What I would suggest you do is search as often as possible in used bookstores, checking out all the cookbooks and look for something that appears similar to what you have. Try searching on ebay and look at the old cookbooks that are being offered for sale–limit your search to anything published by Houghton Mifflin. Or – write to the publishers and ask if they can identify your book. It took me over 30 years to learn the identity of a handwritten cookbook (see my post about Helen’s Cookbook) – so it helps to be persistent in your search.
      Personally, I would start with a letter to the publisher. Hope this helps. Once you know the title of the book you can begin searching for another copy, if that’s what you want to do. I have my mother’s original Ida Bailey Allen Service Cookbook but now have two more copies in almost pristine condition, thanks to persistent searching.

      • It would help if Cindi (and anyone else with such a problem) would make a photo accessible. I try to cross-reference the names of books as I log them in. I am now thinking that perhaps I should also add what appears at the tops of the pages, if that is different.
        ***
        For some reason, I can’t magnify your photo, Sandy. I need to figure out how to get around here. Right now, I have to move more stuff though.

Leave a Reply

