Kitchen Magic

KITCHEN MAGIC

The magician had a book

And the book was titled

The Service Cookbook

by

Ida Bailey Allen”

And I knew that this book

Contained all the secrets

Of the Kitchen Magic.

I held my breath,

As I opened the pages

Many of them stained

And darkened and shredded

From use,

But I knew

It contained the Magician’s Secrets;

Shortening+sugar+egg+vanilla+flour

+baking powder+ salt+raisins+milk=

Old Fashioned Raisin Cookies

Or

Sugar+milk+baking soda+additional sugar+

Pecans=

Pralines

and

Milk+tapioca+cornmeal+

Molasses+ sugar+butter+salt=

Indian Pudding

Although I was a very young child,

I studied the Magician’s book, determined to

Learn all its secrets,

And when the opportunity presented itself

I stole the book of

Kitchen Magic.

Now it was mine

And I could perform

All the magical things

That happen only in

The kitchen.

And I did.

–Sandra Lee Smith

March 18, 2009

True story except for stealing the book-it was my

mother’s & she actually gave it to me. But the rest

is true and it was the first cookbook I learned to

cook from.

One response to “Kitchen Magic

  1. I loved this poem! Your blog is really nice. It’s a happy place. Keep up the great work! Anna

Leave a Reply

